In 1955, Davenport House became the office for Historic Savannah Foundation. Recognizing the potential of the historic house, the first floor was restored and opened to the public as a museum in 1963. Subsequently the second and third floors were opened with the Foundation moving offices elsewhere. Beginning in the mid-1980s the museum began to adhere to professional museum standards. In the mid-1990s the re-restoration process resulted in a more authentic experience for museum visitors. It had period wallpaper and room furnishings reflecting the inventory taken at the time of Isaiah Davenport’s death in 1827. This acclaimed repository offers curators programs for patrons with special tours explaining the interpretation and restoration to examine collections and view storage that is normally off-limits to museum visitors. This tour limited to 10 people is followed by refreshments and conversation in the garden.