The Iowa Old Capitol Building located in Iowa City was once the main government building for the state of Iowa. It is a U.S. National Historic Landmark with the Iowa constitution crafted inside the building. When the state government moved to Des Moines in 1857, it became the first permanent building owned by the University of Iowa. It stands as the most prominent landmark at the center of the University campus serving as a library, chapel, armory and also providing space for classrooms and offices. Major renovation of the building took place in the 1920s while it continued to function for the University until the 1970s. When the structure required more renovation it was decided not to create a modern office building. Instead the university undertook restoration to recreate its original condition as a government building of the 1850s. The Old Capitol Building reopened to the public on the nation`s bicentennial on July 4, 1976, as a National Historic Landmark.